My Tribute to My Mom

Mom, You were the first person that I loved.  You demonstrated pure compassion and grace.  You were in the hospital more times than I can count while pregnant with me and for that reason alone you deserve all the rewards Heaven has to offer.  From the time I was born, I was a momma’s boy and I’m not afraid to admit it.  I was always the baby that needed to be held or around people and apparently that hasn’t changed much now that I’m adult.  Mom, you were my best friend from the moment I came into this world.  You loved me when I didn’t feel loved by anyone or deserved it, you stood by me when everyone else walked away and you continuously lifted me up when I was constantly beaten down.  Mom, you have always been my hero in every sense of the word.

I have such awesome memories of you helping me build my cities, letting me win at board games even though you hated them, listening to me sing even when my voice sounded like Mickey Mouse was being murdered and you never grimaced or covered your ears….although, now that I think about it…could I have been what caused your hearing loss?  😦   You poured out so much for us and I just hope and pray that you felt the love and adoration in return.  You loved us so much that you didn’t want to do anything else but be with us and it was so admirable that you worked in the school district so you would have our schedule.  We were extremely fortunate to have you home with us during all the school breaks!  While on the breaks from school, we went swimming, shopping, staying at home relaxing, visiting friends and it didn’t matter what we did, you always had a way of making it fun and exciting.  You made all of our friends welcome and they still say to this day how kind and loving you were.

I will never forget the days that I just didn’t feel like going to school and you would come in and look at me and ask, “are you really sick?”  I would wink and say, “nah”….and you would say…”okay, you can stay at home, just don’t make it a habit!”  You definitely showed me too much grace because I was much “sicker” than everyone else on purpose because that meant I could stay at home and relax!  You knew exactly what I was doing and you always gave me that little smile!

You had such a sense of humor as well.  I’m not sure many people know, how goofy you could be, I won’t even talk about you getting drunk at the Episcopal church at their Seder’s supper!   I love the fact that my conservative, baptist mom, loved listening to Coldplay and Eminem!  Still blows me away that you even liked that stuff, especially Eminem!  You loved showing us how you could still twirl your baton and show us your tricks from when you were in high school and I remember you trying to show me how to play basketball, but we all know I never got that athletic gene!  😉  You always had such a huge smile and we were always extremely proud of you!  You are still the only person I know that could not get a tan, so what did you do?  You would wear shorts and panty hose!  Maybe you thought people didn’t realize….ummmm!  LOL

I specifically remember one time you were driving and we were with you.  A car pulled out and nearly hit us.  You never cursed but this one particular time you told us to cover our ears and you said…very calmly…..”damn!”  Jamie and I couldn’t contain our laughter and still laugh about it today because that’s just how you were…you were always just so kind!

Everyone that knew you, knew you as the animal whisperer.  You never saw a stray that you didn’t try to adopt.  It was incredible to see these animals just innately trust you and seem to know that you would take care of them.  Over the years, we had dogs, cats, a horse for a short time, rabbits, frogs, hamsters, a turtle or two and some ducks, it was amazing!  You always said you would wanted to open a animal sanctuary and I like to believe you are helping to take care of the animals in Heaven!  You even took in animals that were sick because you just wanted them to enjoy what little time they had left on earth.

Your heart was unlike anyone’s I’ve ever come across.  You never met a stranger and although you could be timid and shy at times (maybe that’s where I get it) if someone needed anything, you would give them the shirt off your back!  You had such a passion for children with special needs and I believe that was one of your callings.  You had such patience and love for them and you showed us to never treat people any differently and that they needed to be shown as much respect and dignity as everyone else in our lives.  It helped us to never see a disability, we just saw them as another brother or sister and it was a tremendous blessing!  I remember the times during school breaks that you would have your students at the house. You would watch them so that their parents had an opportunity for break for a few hours!  What  kind of person while on their vacation still does that?  My mom, that’s who!  It was never a job for you, it was your passion from deep within your heart and you pursued it like she did everything else in your life, with faith and trust in God.

Your heart simply had no boundaries and I know that you are being rewarded heavily while worshiping at the feet of Jesus.

Mom, there’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think about you.  I wonder who you’ve seen, who you are talking to, and what you are doing!  It’s awesome to think that after all the years of praying for us, sharing God’s word, guiding us and loving us, you are now able to rejoice and see the fruits of your labor.  You are now able to experience your salvation!

I love you so much and I hope you have an amazing Mother’s Day in Heaven!  I’ll see you soon but until then, I hope I can make you proud and that you can catch glimpses of the awesome things God is doing in our lives!

Miss you!

JaseFile24

Author: Jase

I'm a thirty something year old male from Texas that is on a journey of trying to figure out life with the help of a gracious and forgiving God. I have a passion for sharing the gospel with the lost and also for worship. I believe worship is something we are required to do in all areas of our lives throughout each and every day!

One thought on “My Tribute to My Mom”

Leave a comment